March Photo Challenge: Week 3

Standard

Last week has been a fun, but busy one. I went to not one, but two concerts (which makes 3 shows in just 6 days if I count in the one I went to the week before). While I was absolutely knackered by the middle of the week, I enjoyed going out during the week a lot. So much so that we’ve decided to finally break our couch and TV routine of the last weeks and do more fun stuff again. I really like spending time in our beautiful new apartment, but lately we’ve been acting more like retirees than people in their late 20s/early 30s. I hope I’ll be able to present you some of the fun things we’re going to do this week in my next edition of the March Photo Challenge. In the meanwhile, here are my pictures I took during last week’s evenings.

Day 15

DSC_0705Saturday is usually the only day of the week that we cook something. We both have lunch at work and stick to the good old “Abendbrot” (which basically consists of sandwiches, literally it means “evening bread”) during the week. I’d wanted to try a recipe called Mapo Tofu ever since I read about it on Chronicles of Yoyo (thanks, Yolande, for introducing me to this delicious dish). I’m not the best cook and I had to improvise a little because I couldn’t find all the ingredients, but this was one of the tastiest things I’ve ever eaten. My stomach really hurt because I couldn’t stop eating. Yum!

Day 16

DSC_0724One thing I really, really want to do this year is go back to Japan for a holiday in autumn. I have no idea if we’ll actually go (mainly because of financial reasons), but since I love nothing more than travel planning, I bought a Lonely Planet and have started to read through it. I’m trying to not get too excited about all the things I’d love to see and do, but there’s nothing wrong about dreaming a little, right?

Day 17

DSC_0707On Monday evening I was taking the train back home as usual. I always have my iPod plugged in because I like to shut myself off from my fellow passengers and sometimes, like that day, I’m also reading at the same time. As I was sitting there absorbed in my book I noticed that the train had reached the only point on the journey where it travels overground. It’s only for a few seconds, but it’s always the sign for me that I’m only 1 stop from where I have to get off. I was still reading in my book when suddenly I noticed that the train had stopped. At a train station. Overground. I turned around and noticed that I was the only person still on the train. Hastily, I picked up my stuff and jumped out of the train. So I had taken the wrong one even though this line never stops at the track my trains depart from. I can take any train from that track, so I usually don’t pay attention to where exactly it’s going (I definitely will from now on). So there I was, stuck in the wrong station and the next train back wouldn’t leave until 25 minutes later. It was already after 7, so I wouldn’t be home until 8. Bummer! I called the boyfriend and kindly asked him if he could pick me up knowing that it would only take him 15 minutes max to get there. He wasn’t amused, but he jumped right into the car. While I was waiting outside, I took a picture. There’s not much to see, but after all that hassle I couldn’t really be bothered to come up with something more interesting.

Day 18

DSC_0710 On Tuesday, I went to see Casper, a German rapper, with my sister. The ticket was a birthday gift from her. It was really nice to do something with my sister. Even though we live close the each other, we only meet up every couple of weeks because we’re both busy people. The concert was awesome! I usually don’t listen to hip hop anymore. I used to back in the 90s when good German hip hop was actually a thing. Casper really is an exception these days and he put on a great show. I was really exhausted from all the jumping around.

Day 19

On Wednesday evening I went to a concert again. This time it was You Me At Six. I’d already seen them play in support of 30 Seconds to Mars last autumn and was really looking forward to seeing them do a headline show. The venue was probably the tiniest I’ve ever been to. I didn’t even see the stage at first, that’s how tiny it was. The vibe there was great and both the band and the crowd were in a great mood. My favourite moment was probably when lead singer Josh decided to jump on the bar and suddenly stood right in front of me. He then jumped into the crowd and let us carry him back to the stage. It was a bit risky considering there were only a few hundred people there and it wasn’t exactly crowded. But luckily, he got out of there safely.

Day 20

DSC_0718After all the action I had the days before, I was absolutely exhausted on Thursday. I didn’t do much else than lying around on the couch that evening. But when I went home from work I took a picture of the sky which had a nice pattern from the airplanes that had crossed it moments before.

Day 21

DSC_0719Friday is grocery shopping day for us. We used to do it on Saturdays, but since it always takes up so much time and we want to do greater things on our weekends, we decided to change that routine. Here’s a look at our not so healthy purchase. We still had plenty of vegetables and fruit at home which is why we didn’t buy any. Usually, it’s really not that bad.

One response »

  1. Glad you tried the mapo tofu! Getting the ingredients does involve a little hunting around the Asian supermarket in Frankfurt. There’s Yuan Fa at Konstablewache which is pretty good. :)

Leave a Reply

