Wishes to the Universe

Standard

“Shouldn’t we start drinking?”, I ask my friend who is lying next to me on the couch. It’s only 2 hours until midnight and the beginning of the new year and we haven’t had a single drop of alcohol yet.
“There’s some Crémant left from last night”, my friend replies unenthusiastically.
“We had Crémant last night?”, I shout while desperately trying to remember when we did.
“We almost finished the whole bottle.”
“When?” Still no memory. It was a long night though.
“After the red wine and the hot Mojitos.”
Now I remember.
“Ah, right! Then Crémant it is,” I say, trying to sound cheerful.
My friend slowly gets up from the couch and disappears in the kitchen. She comes back with an almost empty bottle of Crémant and pours it into my glass.
“What are you gonna drink?”, I ask.
“I’ll stick with water tonight”, she says and flops back on the couch.
“So what are we gonna do now?”, I ask. We’ve just finished watching “Beginners”. It was a good movie, but probably a bit too depressing for New Year’s Eve.
“Maybe there’s something on TV”, my friend suggests and pushes a button on the remote control.
But there isn’t. Unless you like German folk music, Après Ski music or old German pop songs and celebrities I have never once seen in my life making stupid comments on them. Compared to that, “Scary Movie 3” doesn’t seem like such a bad choice.
After half an hour of silly jokes and every second scene ending in a hardcore catfight in which at least one of the chicks is losing one or several body parts, I notice that my friend has fallen asleep. I look at her and start to giggle. This is hilarous! Suddenly my eyelids seem to weigh a ton. And it’s still more than an hour to go. But I’m not going to fall asleep. No, I will stay awake and welcome the new year – and then I’ll go to bed.
After I’ve been fighting sleep for an endless hour, my friend finally wakes up again. The fireworks outside have gotten pretty noisy, so we get up to watch them. They look beautiful. I just stare at them swirling in the dark night sky in all different kinds of shapes and colours and wait until the new year finally arrives. When it does, me and my friend hug and wish each other a happy new year.
“It was so much easier to party 2 nights in a row when we were younger”, my friend says when we go to bed a couple of minutes later.
Oh yes, it was!

I’m not a big fan of new year’s resolutions. I have never really had any and probably never will, simply because I think I don’t need them. If I want to be nicer to the people around me, eat healthier or finally start to properly seperate waste, I can just do it. Anytime. And it shouldn’t just be a resolution for the new year, but for the rest of my life. What I do like doing at the beginning of a new year though, is to set goals I want to accomplish and dreams I want to make reality. Last year I attended a party on New Year’s Eve where we wrote down our wishes for the new year and then burned all of them wishing for the Universe (or just us) to make them come true. At home, I wrote down the wishes I had made and put them in a drawer. Throughout the year I have looked at that piece of paper more than once to remind me of what I wanted to do and accomplish in 2011. It really has kept me on the path I wanted to take. And guess what: A couple of the wishes I made actually came true. Basically because I worked towards them or finally had the means or guts to put them into reality. Others didn’t, but led me into a whole new direction or didn’t seem achievable anymore because I have changed my mind.

  • Finish my first screenplay. I’d been interested in writing screenplays for a while, so at the end of 2010 I finally bought a book about it in order to learn the basics and finally get started. I actually never made it any further than writing down the plot line and a couple of scenes, but I did so several times. I just didn’t have the persistence to follow it through. Or maybe it just wasn’t the right idea. Instead, I started this blog which I have to admit has been one of my personal highlights in 2011. And I’m having big plans for it in 2012. Oh, yes! By the way, I’ve also had an amazing idea for a new screenplay. So maybe I’ll finish it this time.
  • Travel to New York. That’s something I’ve wanted to do for a long time and in 2011 I finally  did it. I’ve always had a thing for huge cities because of their diversity in every aspect of life – and New York is now definitely one of my favourite cities ever (right after Tokyo which can’t be beaten by any other place in the world). Even though we stayed in the Big Apple during a horrible heat wave, we had an awesome time every single day. We would walk all day to see as many parts of the city as we could and fell into our beds with a happy feeling every night. I took home many great memories and loads of inspiration that I’ll be able to live off for a long time. And I will definitely be back!
  • Be promoted. One of my goals for 2011 was to be promoted to PR consultant. I had been working as a junior consultant for quite a while and felt that I was ready to finally become a consultant. So I worked hard on improving my skills, on satisfying my clients, on getting more responsibilites – and on making my boss notice my efforts. Having worked at this company for quite a while, I knew that my boss wouldn’t just offer me a promotion. I would have to take the first step. So in October I went to his office and told him that I felt I was ready for it. And he thought so, too.
  • Find a boyfriend. Ok, that one didn’t turn out that well. But there have been worse years. I made out with a couple of guys, even dated two of them for a while, but it never turned into a proper relationship. Before you’re eyes will start tearing up because of that sad story, I’ll tell you that it was my decision and I’m happy with it. Of course I’d like to have a boyfriend that I will eventually marry and have kids with. But what I’ve learned is that when it comes to relationships it’s wrong to listen to reason (or what your family and friends might say to you) rather than what your heart is telling you. If something doesn’t feel right from the start, it probably just is not right. It’s as simple as that. I’ve had to hurt some people’s feelings this year because of that and I can tell you, it wasn’t nice. So I will stay single until the feeling is right. And being single is actually not that bad once you’ve gotten used to it.

Tonight I’m going to make a wish list for 2012. I’m already having a lot of things in mind that I want to do. All I will tell you is that it’s going to be an amazing journey that is definitely going to change my life in one way or the other. And I’m sure I will share a lot of these experiences on this blog. So stay tuned in 2012!

Happy New Year!

2 responses »

  1. Finding a boyfriend is probably the hardest resolution ever, but I completely agree with you on how it feels to be single.It’s all about a feeling, and reason has nothing to do with love and all that junk. I’ve been single for a year now, living on my own and being an independent lady or whatever, and once I got used to it, it’s the life!
    Also, noticed your tweet about about your theme song for 2012; excellent choice!

  2. Exactly! Great that you’re enjoying you’re single life. I actually like the term “independent lady”. That’s pretty much me, right now. It took quite a while until I got there, though. I’ve been single for almost 6 years now, with some guys coming and going inbetween (I wouldn’t actually call them boyfriends because they weren’t really). At first I enjoyed the freedom I suddenly had after coming out of a long relationship. When I was ready to date again, but it didn’t go that well, I started to get desperate. I dated a lot of “inappropriate” guys which, of course, ended up in disappointments. I also got rejected a couple of times. And finally, I just stopped pushing things too hard and started to live my life they way I wanted to. Whatever happens happens! 🙂

Leave a Reply

