A Love Letter to the Earth

Standard

When I think of Valentine’s Day one particular story comes to my mind. (Note: If you’re about to leave because you’re expecting a cheesy love story, be assured, it’s not!)
I was busy at work when the doorbell rang. One of my workmates opened the door and came back with a huge bunch of flowers. Being the only single at the office at the time (and ever since for that matter), I didn’t pay much attention to what was going on. I was sure one of the girl’s boyfriends must have sent them and in a few seconds everybody would gather around her screaming “awww” and “ooooh”. The girl would be almost in tears over having such a great boyfriend and soon everybody would share their very own heart-warming Valentine’s story.
But suddenly I noticed someone standing behind me. I turned around. There was my workmate wearing a big smile on her face.
“This is for you”, she said cheerfully, solemnly handing me the flowers.
“Are you sure?”, I asked insecurely. This coudldn’t be right. Who would send me flowers? Or anything at all? I didn’t have anything even close to a love interest. My ex-boyfriend had a new girlfriend. Was someone trying to mock me here? If so, I didn’t think it was funny.
Suddenly it was me who was surrounded by a giggling crowd of girls that were eagerly waiting for me to reveal the identity of my secret admirer.
“Open the envelope already”, they shouted while jumping up and down like little kids on Christmas Day.
I reached for the little envelope that was neatly placed in the middle of the flowers. When I opened it I had a weird feeling in my guts. The card read: “Happy Valentine’s Day. Love, Mum.”

I have never been a big fan of Valentine’s Day. And that’s not just because I haven’t had a significant other to buy overprized chocolate for in ages. I don’t like the pink hearts and red roses and happily-ever-after couples shoved in my face everywhere I go. And I especially don’t like the concept of having a particular day on which I have to express my love for someone. Because if I don’t, it’s not true love, man! Well, of course I get it. It’s a freaking money making machine – which makes me like it even less.

However, this Valentine’s Day is different. Because I accidently stumbled over something I feel is worth expressing my love to – even on Valentine’s Day. It’s a project called “Love Letter to the Earth” which is part of the Eradicating Ecocide campaign. It has the goal to make Ecocide (e. g. the destruction, damage and loss of ecosystems) a crime and have this law in place by the end of this year. People from all  over the world can support this cause by submitting Love Letters to our lovely planet which will then be published on the website and presented to world leaders in order to raise awareness. I think this is a great way to speak out for our planet that I care about and I’m sure you do, too. So I wrote this Love Letter to the Earth:

Dear Earth,

we’ve known each other for quite a while now. You’ve been my home for almost 30 years. You gave me the opportunity to roam your forests, rivers and corn fields when I was a kid. In summer, I probably spend more time with you than with my parents – building huts from branches we found on the ground, eating wild berries and taking a refreshing bath in the nearby creek. As I got older I realized that you had more to offer than this little childhold paradise of ours. You gave me the opportunity to explore the incredible beauty of your nature and it left me speechless more than once. I remember hiking through the rainforest in Queensland accompanied by the songs of colourful birds. I remember standing on the top of Mt. Fuji watching your beautiful sunrise coming up behind the horizon. I remember standing on a ferry in the Atlantic ocean watching humpback whales jumping out of the water right in front of me.

These memories will stick with me forever. They are part of our story together. And I don’t want this story to end anytime soon. I don’t want the precious gift of your existence to be exploited, damaged and destroyed. I want you to be healthy, so I can be healthy. I want my future kids to live happily on this planet. I want them to dig in dirt and swim in lakes without having to worry about health risks. I want them to witness the miracle of life on this planet in all its diversity. I want them to grow up in a world that cares about your well-being, because you are our past, our present and our future. We can’t live without you and there’s no substituting you. I promise I will do my best to take good care of you as long as I’m here. And I hope others will do so, too.

 

If you, too, want to send a message to the Earth, you can write your own Love Letter here.
Also check out Eradicating Ecocide’s website if you want to learn more about the campaign.

Please help out! The Earth needs all the love she can get.

Leave a Reply

