I have never… written a song about a palm tree

Standard

Oh yes, it’s true! Another post. The second one in less than 3 days. I guess thinking and writing about creativity really gave me a boost! 🙂

So speaking of creativity – last Saturday night (right after publishing my last post) I had a funny idea which had to do with how I spent Friday night, so in order to not confuse you, I’m just gonna start right there. Last Friday was the night of VyRT the MARS laboratoy – an exclusive online event which was hosted by no other than my favourite band 30 Seconds to Mars. It was supposed to give us a unique insight into their studio and the work on their new album, among others. I had been excited about this ever since the event had been announced a couple of weeks ago. So imagine my disappointment when the evening went exactly the opposite of what I had imagined in my head.

It all started with my friend and fellow VyRTer getting lost several times on the way to my house. It usually doesn’t take longer than 45 minutes to get to where I live, but she was on the road for almost 2 hours. I tried to give her directions over the phone several times which was quite difficult not knowing her exact location. I was seriously worried that she would never make it to my place. Luckily, she did. And I have to admit that it was kind of funny. Hell, it could have happened to me, too. I’m a lousy driver. When we finally sat down in the living room with a cool beer and tons of snacks, there was only about 1 hour left until the show was about to start. I logged into the site. There was a black video screen loading. And loading. And still loading.

“Do you think it is supposed to be like this?”, I asked my friend, unsure what to make of it.
“I don’t know. Maybe we should check what people are saying on twitter or the boards”, she replied.
So we did. People said they were seeing a palm tree. All we saw was a black screen. It wasn’t working. We both took a deep breath.
“Let’s try it on your laptop”, I suggested.
So we did. But the Wi-Fi didn’t work for some reason. Neither did the LAN connection. I felt a slight feeling of panic rising.
“My TV has Wi-Fi as well. I’ve never used it, but it’s worth a try”, I said. We still had everything under control. There was still plenty of time to solve the problem.

Of course, the TV couldn’t get an internet connection as well. Of course, my hopes that the stream would work on my computer once the show had started were shattered. And of course, the phone connection was way too bad to watch the whole thing on our smartphones. We spent more than 3 hours trying to get it to work somehow. Hopes were coming up when we learnt that there were some technical issues and that the show had been momentarily interrupted. But when it came back on, we were still cut off. We almost freaked out when we finally got a picture of the palm tree. I can whole-heartedly say that I have never been this happy to see a fucking palm tree in my entire life. And never have I been so annoyed by one. Because it just wouldn’t go away, finally giving us a glimpse inside the lab. Because it was just standing there, not moving, like it was laughing about us silly kids going crazy in front of all the screens we had set up and that were still not working despite our endless efforts. The fucking palm tree was all I got to see that night.

And all I could think about the next day. The fucking palm tree that had actually made it to a World Wide Trending on Twitter. When I was sitting on my couch that night, still disappointed that I had missed out on all the fun, I suddenly found some lyrics in my head. “A fucking palm tree” it went to the melody of “The Kill”. I looked a little further and after 20 minutes I had written “The VyRT Palm Tree Song”. I couldn’t stop giggling about my silly idea all the way through writing. I texted my friend and asked her if  I should record it and post it on YouTube. She thought it was a great idea. So did I. Almost 24 hours after our epic VyRT fail the song went online and it has had more than 1.500 views in less than 2 days – which is insane because that’s more than my blog got in 5 months. Unfortunately, it got more dislikes than likes so far – but I’m still hopeful and once again I guess it’s only for those who understand ;).

And above all, there’s a lesson to be learned here: Frustrating situations can actually lead to creativity as well. They can be turned into something fun. It’s all what you make of it. So let’s bring on those crazy ideas, people!

And please don’t forget to check out the VyRT Palm Tree Song. And maybe even click the Like-Button. 🙂

Leave a Reply

