Taking the next step

Standard

I’m a planner. Before starting a new project, I like to plan everything out in the best possible way. I like to think ahead, to make myself aware of all the obstacles that might block my way and of what I might get myself into. Usually, this kind of thinking would lead me to – exactly nowhere. Especially when you try something new, something you have never done before in your life, thinking about all the possibilities that might occur makes you aware of a couple of things: That you’ll start out with nothing, like a baby that gets thrown out of the cozy womb into the harsh world. That it will require a lot of hard work and commitment to finally evolve from the infant status. And that there’s no garuantee that you will succeed in the end. These thoughts used to lead me to the conclusion, that it wasn’t worth trying, that my ideas were just stupid and were better just left ideas.

But I was wrong – not only about not daring to actually follow my ideas, but also about the way I was planning them in my head. I don’t know why, but when I started this whole music/band thing, I took a different approach. I broke the project down into smaller steps that needed to be taken in order to reach the goal. Now each step is a goal of itself – and will be a success if I do reach it. It’s a great way not only to keep track of the overall goal, but to keep myself motivated. So the first goal I set for myself was to find other people who wanted to work on my songs with me. As you might remember, I failed in my first attempt. But then again, I think that it was actually good that things turned out this way. Because joining an existing band that already had some material and had found their own style, wasn’t exactly what I’m looking for. I don’t want to be pressed into a pattern that isn’t me. I want to start my own thing, I want to bring in my own style and ideas – and I want to find like-minded people who are looking for the same.

So I was beyond happy when I received a message from a guitarist who had found my ad on the internet a couple of weeks ago. He sounded decent and motivated and he, too, was looking for people to start a band project with. He asked me to send him recordings of the songs I had already written, so I took my crappy mic and sang my songs for him with all my heart. I was actually pretty sure I would never hear from him again. When I performed one of my songs at the band audition the guys weren’t very impressed by it, so why would this guy be? But he replied. And he said that he liked my stuff, that he thought that we could actually turn them into some great songs if we worked on it together and that we should meet for a rehearsal. Wow! There it was. I could see the finishing line of goal number 1 coming up in the distance.

Last week, I met with the guy and it was just amazing! Like a miracle. I had waited for this day for a long time and suddenly there it was. I was singing my songs and the guy was playing his guitar to it – and after some rehearsing and experimenting it really started to sound like proper music. It was so much fun that we spent almost 3 hours in the rehearsal room. And when we left we were both carrying a huge smile on our faces. He told me that he really liked my material and that he’d like to meet again for another session. I can’t tell you how strange it feels when someone’s telling you that he actually likes your creative output which you’ve been working on quietly in your home for all this time. It’s probably one of the most rewarding experiences I’ve ever been able to make.

I can’t believe that goal number 1 is actually achieved. I’m beyond happy to be this lucky and I feel like this is the beginning of an interesting and exciting journey. The next goal is to find other people to join us, so we can actually start to work on the songs as a real band. No matter how long it will take and how hard this journey will be, I know one thing: I am already a winner. Because I dared to take the first step. Because I’ve achieved something noone can ever take away from me. So what’s your next step?

Leave a Reply

