Refreshed

Standard

Today has been my 3rd day back at the office after my holiday and I’m already feeling like I want to take some time off again. Sigh! Our trip to Scotland was amazing though and exactly what I needed. It was so great to spend some quality time with my sister. We don’t get to spend a whole week together that often anymore since we’ve both moved away from home. When we’re together we’re getting into the funniest adventures we will laugh about for years. We actually had the plan to convince people we met that we were twins because we get asked that a lot which I think is a strange phenomenon. I mean, I know we have a similar hair colour and cut and we pretty much share the same taste in clothes (we actually own the same shirt, but never wear it at the same time). But I just don’t think we look that much alike. Plus, I’m 4 years older, but hey, I know I look waaaay younger ;). Anyway, we never got around to pull that story. Instead

  • we got stranded in a little village on an island with no restaurant or supermarket where we could get something for dinner.
  • we bought a pizza at our hostel and made it in the microwave. It looked pretty awful, but pizza mash doesn’t actually taste that bad when you’re hungry.
  • we wanted to take the bus to a bigger city to take a look around (and to get proper food!), only to find out that the next bus was coming in 2 hours. So we went for a walk and got drenched despite carrying an umbrella. Why the heck does it always rain from all sides in Scotland? Rain has to come from above, you know!
  • I took part in a pub quiz and made second place. Yay, me! Ok, I actually think the handsome quiz host gave me a couple of extra points because I did terribly…
  • I convinced my sister to try Haggis with me and we both loved it.
  • when we were about to leave our hotel in Edinburgh, the fire alarm went off. My sister wanted to get out as fast as she could. Having had my experiences with false alarms, I kept on packing. (Ever had a fire alarm in the middle of the night which made you run down 15 storeys in pajamas only to find out that the exit door leads to the biggest street in downtown Sydney and that it was a freaking false alarm? Well, if you have, fire alarms won’t impress you that much anymore.) When we were finished with packing, we just walked out of the hotel getting strange looks from all the other guests that were waiting on the opposite side of the street, some in pajamas, with bare feet or non-matching socks. I’m sure people were freezing, but it just looked hilarous!

Oh yeah, we had a lot of fun in bonny Scotland. A lot of memories were made during that week. And realizations. I did a lot of thinking. I always do. So here’s what I came to:

  • I miss travelling. I miss it so much it makes my heart ache sometimes. Experiencing the different, the new, the unforeseen can be so inspiring. I get to do some travelling for my job, but it’s mostly just Frankfurt-Munich and back. And it’s totally different from travelling just for my own sake. So I want to try to travel some more. It doesn’t have to be far, even within this city there are plenty of things to discover.
  • I need to find a way to relax more in my everyday life. Over the past couple of months I rarely made a proper lunch break. I ate at my desk and either worked or checked private stuff on the internet. In my old office, people used to eat together and I really miss that. People here are a lot different. And when there’s a lot of work to do, I tend to skip the break, so I won’t have to finish work too late. I do know that it’s important to take a break, even a short one, to refresh your head, maybe take a little stroll along the river. I’m gonna try to force myself to take a break. And not just at work. With all my private adventures I’ve started, I always feel like I have to work on them all the time. I end up being busy until I have to go to bed which leads to my brain still being engaged with all these things when it’s supposed to sleep. Other people might not mind this, but I do. I need some quiet time to stay sane, so I’ll try to get some more of that.
  • And lastly, there’s something that’s finally become obvious to me. It’s always been there and I tried to ignore it. But I can’t deny that it’s there. I’m pretty sure I’m going to need a big change in my life again within the next few years. And by big I mean BIG. Shockingly kind of big so it will leave people speechless and shaking their heads. I can’t really tell what it will look like. I’ll have to figure it out, sooner than later. And I know that I’m already putting things on the right track now.

Oh and here’s some advice for all the people thinking about taking a trip to Scotland: Make Edinburgh the last stop of your trip. Anything you’ll see after will just seem ugly and boring in comparison. Trust me!

One response »

  1. I also miss traveling! I want to travel to so many different and new places, I really don’t know how to do it. If only I had the financial means, I would pack my bags and leave for 12 months straight.

Leave a Reply

