Quote

So, it was my birthday on Friday and I finally said goodbye to my 20s. And surprise! 30 doesn’t feel much different than 29. Not yet at least. I’m really looking forward to what this new decade of my life is going to bring. When I look back to 10 years ago, I feel like I’m almost a completely different person. Of course, I am still me, but I have grown so much, I have learned so much about myself and life in general, I’ve had so many great adventures – I just can’t wait to see what else there is for me. And I feel like I’m having a much better starting point right now than I had 10 years ago. I’m not that insecure anymore, I feel like now I know myself so much better than I did back then and most of all: I know what I want in life, I am willing to be brave and to fight for what I believe in. I don’t pay that much attention to what other people are thinking or saying about me. I just do my thing and move forward, little by little everyday. And I wouldn’t want to trade this attitude for anything in the world.

It’s interesting how I only just  found the strength to be that kind of person within the past year. I guess it was inside of me for a long time, but it is only recently that I’m brave enough to put it into action. And even though it has only been a short time, a lot of amazing things have happened. It just occured to me on my birthday party when I was looking at all those amazing people that had come to celebrate with me. I am blessed with so many great people in my life, some of whom have been my friends for a long time and some of whom I’ve just met over the past year. And I am grateful for each and every one of them. I am grateful that they support me even if sometimes they don’t completely understand me or what it is that I am fighting for. And then there are those people who share dreams with me, who believe in me, who see something in me that sometimes I don’t even see. And that’s the most amazing thing. Without all those people in my life, I wouldn’t be where I am now. So much has happened over the past year, sometimes it seems like a miracle to me. Things that I never would have imagined and that surely wouldn’t have happened if I didn’t have the support of all those amazing people. So yeah, I can’t wait to see which adventures are waiting for me in my 30s. There sure are a lot of challenges ahead. I’m in now way where I want to be some day. But I’m getting closer to it every single day. And that feels great!

30 and grateful

One response »

Leave a Reply

