My year in concerts (part 2)

Standard

Let’s continue my little concert recap with

Santigold
This artist is probably best known to people here in Germany for her contribution to a Vodafone commercial. For me however, it is part of the soundtrack to a road trip on the US east coast I did with a friend last year. Strolling through the streets of NYC. Cruising down motorways and getting lost more than once. Whalewatching on Cape Cod. Those are the memories that I connect with this music. So of course I was in when said friend asked me to join her for the concert. It was fun. The bootyshaking kinda fun.

558215_4532014461335_599223919_n

Folklore im Garten (festival)
This year was my second time at this lovely and surprisingly cheap festival. You can see some great, mostly German bands for about 25€, plus great food and art performances. Major bargain! I was joined by my sister and her boyfriend this time. When we saw Krafklub (second time for me) on the first night, we thought that the crowd couldn’t go any wilder. But boy, were we wrong. On the second night German rapper Casper entered the stage and just destroyed us all. Oh, what a night!

271413_4597476777852_1244489573_o

Energy in the Park (festival)
The Olympic Park in Munich is probably one of the best locations for a music festival. Chilling in the sun in front of a lake while you can watch the bands performing on stage. Of course, we also made our way into the crowd. When we went in to see Maximo Park, we learned about the crappy security system first hand. I mean how stupid is it to let only people enter the first rows who have been there right at the start? At a festival with a huge variety of bands where absolutely noone stays at the front all the time. The crowd was pushing from the back like crazy because there was lots of space at the front, but noone without a stamp on their hand was let in. Absolute chaos! I felt kinda sad for Maximo Park because the crowd at the front clearly wasn’t there to see them and the atmosphere was kinda lame. Luckily, when we went back in the crowd for the final band, Deichkind, the security finally realized that their concept didn’t work out well and there weren’t enough people at front, so they let us in. I wouldn’t have wanna missed that spectacle. If you wanna party hard with crazy people who aren’t embarrassed by anything, go see Deichkind. They’re hilarious.

Billy Talent
Those Canadians ranked pretty high on my must-see list, so I was more than happy when they came to Frankfurt in support of their new album. I convinced my sister to join me last minute, so I didn’t have to go on my own. I loved the energy of the crowd that night. I love the new record. There’s some great stuff on there. Melodious and energetic. Billy Talent sure know how to rock and I’m a huge fan of Ben’s unique voice. I love a frontman who knows how to scream, too.

201103_4818406980969_1459349054_o

Maximo Park
I wasn’t sure for a long time if I wanted to see Maximo Park again since the first time I saw them turned out to be pretty lame. I was almost sure it was the crowd’s fault because mostly bands react to the way the crowd behaves. Which is totally understandable. So I got my ticket. And I’m glad I did. Judging by the music, I never thought they were able to rock a crowd the way they did. It was amazing. And I’m gonna give them the award for “most songs played at a concert”. I think they played 22 songs in 90 minutes. That’s a lot. And definitely something that is quite rare these days. Next time they come to town I’ll definitely be there again.

So much for 2012. I can tell you that 2013 is gonna be even better and bigger concert-wise. Because for one, my heroes from 30 Seconds to Mars are finally touring again next year! Yayayay!!! I already bought tickets for their shows in Berlin and Nice (oh yes, sun, beach, good music and crazy people – who could resist). Then I’m going to give my festival debut at Rock im Park (again with Mars). I have to admit that I already booked a hotel room since I’m not the biggest fan of camping, but who cares. And I’m also going to see my newest obsession in music.: Muse. All these shows are going to happen within 5 weeks in summer, so it’s definitely gonna be a crazy adventure. And I’m sure there’s gonna be more. I can’t wait!

Leave a Reply

