Endings and beginnings

Standard

Happy New Year to all of you! I hope you had a great New Year’s Eve and an awesome first day of 2013.

476798_10200214771394884_1600317339_o

I can’t believe that the chapter of 2012 is finished now. This year passed by so quickly and yet so much has happened. For me, 2012 was definitely a defining year. I’d even go as far as to say that it has been one of the greatest years of my life. A year full of change and self-realization. A year ago, my life had reached a dead end. It was time to turn it to a different direction, to face the unknown and exciting. And once I had accepted this new mindset, everything started to unfold from there. I scored a new job, I moved to a different city and in music I finally found the perfect outlet for my creativity.

I exactly remember the day when the wish to make music occured to me for the very first time. It was in February and I was at home sick. I was so thrilled by the thought of it that I felt like walking on clouds for a whole week. Followed by the realization that it was absolutely stupid to start making music at the age of 29. But the idea turned into something much bigger. I wasn’t able to ignore it, the music in my head didn’t die down. It all turned into a big dream. A dream that grew bigger and bigger everyday.

I never expected to actually find someone who was willing to share this dream with me. I never expected that my ideas would actually turn into songs. I never expected for any of the things that happened to happen. I was prepared for failure, for rejection and stagnation. All of these things happened. But still, progress was made. Because I took one step after the other. I kept my dream alive inside of me, all the time. And when I felt like giving up, I thought of that dream. That I had a right to dream big, no matter how ridiculous it might seem to others, no matter if I’ll ever get even close to it. Just imagine and keep moving forward.

It was me who created all these wonderful moments and experiences of 2012. There might have been a little luck and fate in play here and there, but in the end it was me who made it happen. This is probably the most important thing I learned in 2012. Nothing is impossible if you just want to make it happen. Of course, not everything went smoothly for me this year. There were challenges, moments of weakness and despair. But they are a part of life. They make us stronger and contribute to what we are, so I am able to accept these moments and be at peace with them.

I’m very proud of the foundation I built for my life over the past year. Now it’s time grow on it. And I will. I know that 2013 is gonna be a big year. Full of big goals. The biggest one will be to finally find the missing members to our band and to finally hit the stage. That’s what I will work for. I also want to travel and be adventurous and try new things that I haven’t done before. And this time there’ll be someone at my side. Oh yes, 2012 held a big surprise for me at the end of the year. I finally fell in love again and I can’t help but feel like it must be fate. Because I never would have met him if I hadn’t initially decided on making music. It is all happening for a reason, it is all falling into place.

So, let’s promise each other that we will make 2013 the biggest, greatest and best year of our lives. We will follow our bliss, we won’t give up and we will live dreams! Because in the end, that’s what life’s all about.

One response »

  1. Congratulations, you seem to have had an awesome year 2012 indeed. I’m hoping 2013 will be even better for you! And “yay” about the new romance – I am very happy for you. Your sex life surely needed a boost

Leave a Reply

