InspiraShot: Creative rebels

Standard

IMG_20130103_202800

I recently came across this quote while reading Paul Arden’s “It’s not how good you are, it’s how good you want to be” and couldn’t agree more. There’s a lot of truth lying in these words and it has never been clearer to me.

I think I’ve had a little rebel living inside of me from an early age. It’s just been showing in different ways over the years. I’ve always despised things you bought or did to be cool. That’s why I didn’t drink, smoke or do drugs in my teens, like other kids did. I just felt I didn’t need this for my life to be any better. It was like some kind of reversed rebellion I guess. In my mid-20s, I felt like I was about to be crushed by the career wheel, so I quit my job and left for Japan. Now that I’m 30, I still feel like there’s a lot to rebel against. And music is the perfect language to let it all out. You can be sad and desperate, aggressive and brave, triumphant and insane – all in one song if you please. What I’m fighting for today is the right to be myself and to live life by my own terms. I fight against the expectations others put on me, but that I’m not willing to fulfill.

I’ve also found that being creative sometimes means to rebel against your surroundings that are not supportive of what you’re doing. It actually fuels my inspiration when people doubt me, when they laugh at my dreams and think that I’ll never get anywhere. I like to prove people wrong and my weapon to do so is my creativity. So yeah, I love being a rebel!

Leave a Reply

