I have never… shared a song

Standard

Logo Neu Kopie

I know I’ve been talking a lot about my music and the struggle of forming a band on here. And you’ve patiently listened to the joy and the challenges and the pitfalls it has brought me. Last night I listened to the acoustic versions of some of our songs we’d recorded the other week and I knew that now is the time to share it with you. So I proudly present to you *drumroll* The Riot by Kill your Ego.

This song means a lot to me. Not only because I think we did pretty well writing and arranging it. But also because it was born from personal experience. It’s certainly not a happy song. I actually don’t think I’m even capable of writing a purely happy song. Just not my kinda thing. This song was written a couple of months ago when I was going through a very exhausting, demanding time that almost made me lose the connection to myself. It kinda led to the events I wrote about in my last post. And while it reminds me of the pain I’ve gone through at the time when I sing it, I can now also see that I’ve made it through. I made it to the other side of the tunnel. And now I can move forward.

And while we’re talking about moving forward: Me and my boyfriend (who plays the guitar) originally decided to work on acoustic versions of our songs because we couldn’t find the missing members to make our band complete. We thought that this way we’d still be able to evolve, just the 2 of us, and to hit the stage as a duo until we’d hopefully find fellow musicians to join us. Once we’d decided on it, we suddenly found what we were looking and waiting for all this time. It looks like we’re having a complete band now. Can you believe it? Our patience paid off and I really, really hope that we can show what we’ve been working on so hard for the past months to the world some time soon. I want to go on stage, I want to interact, I want to send out our message to the world. I want it all! And I’m sure that with some patience we’ll get there. Eventually.

Oh, and don’t forget to let me know what you think of the song. I’m curious to hear your opinions!

Leave a Reply

