The missing piece

Standard

DSC02722So, I’m sitting here on my couch constantly checking my phone. Staring at it, hoping that my telepathic powers will magically make it utter a sound. This morning, the boyfriend left for another business trip to the US. A short one. He’ll be back by the weekend. But still I know that I will only be able to sleep tonight if I know that he has arrived safely. I also know that it’s probably still gonna be a while until I’ll receive that message. But I keep staring at my phone, just in case. And I know that I’m gonna miss him like crazy, even though he’s only gone for a few days. When I came home to my empty flat after work, it felt really awkward to know that tonight, he’s not gonna come home. That I’m gonna have the evening all to myself. And tomorrow. And the day after. And after. Don’t get me wrong, it’s not like I don’t know what to do with myself. We’re busy doing stuff on our own all the time. And I believe this is important for a healthy relationship. But knowing that he’s on the other side of the ocean right now is strange. Knowing that I can’t just go and see him if I want to.

I think it’s hard to understand for people who’ve never experienced something like this. Heck, I didn’t understand it until I found my missing piece. And now it’s all so clear to me. Sometimes I stil can’t believe how lucky I am to have found him. You know, someone who completely gets you and is willing to love you for who you are. Nothing more or less. And you feel exactly the same way. We were just talking about that on the weekend. We were celebrating our first anniversary (can you believe it!?) and the boyfriend had organised a surprise weekend for me in a spa town. Noone has ever done something like this for me. Never ever. It was so amazing and perfect. Better than anything I’d ever imagined. We had a cozy room, we went for a nice dinner with lots of wine, went for a walk in the park and relaxed at a spa. I wouldn’t have needed it, but it was definitely the icing on the cake. All I would’ve needed was to be with him. Because when I’m with him I am home. I forget about all the crap that’s going on. I feel safe. And that’s how I know I’ve found my missing piece. Because with him I’ll never be incomplete again. And this is the most incredible feeling in the world!

Edit: While I wrote this I received a text from the boyfriend. He has arrived safely. And he misses me too already. I guess we’re a hopeless case. đŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

