It’s Christmas!

Standard

Wow, I can’t believe it’s Christmas already! Where in the world did the time go? I have to say I haven’t felt very christmassy so far this year. Which is probably due to the weather not acting like it’s December at all. There have been a few snow flakes in early December, but nothing worth mentioning and it hasn’t been very cold yet. In fact, we’re having temperatures around 10 degrees right now which makes me feel like spring is right around the corner. Despite the lack of that Christmas feeling I made sure to take part in some of the traditions around here, the most important one of them being the Christmas market. I absolutely love going there even though it can be quite a hassle in Frankfurt. The Christmas market here is always crowded, but it’s also pretty huge with many stalls selling gifts, food and drinks. The Frankfurt Christmas market mainly takes place on the Römer, a public place in the city center surrounded by old half-timber houses with stalls going down as far as to the river Main. There’s also a part in front of the Paulskirche church and the stalls lead all the way up to the main shopping street, the Zeil. The picture below shows the main part of the market in front of the Römer with the big Christmas tree. It was taken on Sunday which was the last day, so it was pretty crowded as you can see.

DSC02829This year I managed to visit the Christmas market 4 times, mainly to sip on my beloved Glühwein (mulled wine) or Feuerzangenbowle (a red wine punch with rum). On my first trip there, I was so eager I had 2 cups of the latter which made me feel pretty miserable the next day. It’s pretty hard stuff indeed ;).

DSC02833There are also a lot of other hot drinks you can get, sometimes with pretty funny names. Me and the boyfriend like to just order the drink with the funniest name and see what we get. This year we had the “Hot snowman” which turned out to be hot amaretto with way too much cream on top (it was still yummy though) and a “Tipsy banana”, cocoa with rum (I guess) and banana slices.

DSC02837A visit to the Christmas market isn’t complete without stuffing your stomach with some delicious food. In Frankfurt, you can get lost of different things from Bratwurst and other kinds of sausages and meat to filled pancakes, French crepes, Dampfnudeln (a yeast dumpling served with vanilla sauce) and waffles with all kinds of toppings and thousands of other things I can’t think of right now.

DSC02832There’s even a stall where you can get fondue and gather around a little table to eat it. I really want to try that next year. If you haven’t had enought there’s also tons of sweets you can buy like almonds and other nuts roasted in sugar, popcorn or fruit covered in chocolate. So it’s definitely a must to come to the Christmas market with an empty stomach, so you can fully enjoy all the culinary pleasures waiting for you.

A smaller amount of stalls are also selling other things like candles, Christmas decorations, gloves, scarves and the likes. This year I bought some beautiful candles as little gifts for my mum, grandma and the boyfriend’s mum. I never find these things as exciting as the food and drinks though. Of course not.

DSC02831I have to say, I’m a little sad that the Christmas market is already over, but I’m also looking forward to the holidays. This year is only the second time that I’m not going to celebrate Christmas Eve (which is the most important of the holidays here in Germany where everybody will get their presents) with my parents and sister. For the first time, the boyfriend and I are going to celebrate Christmas Eve just the 2 of us. We’ve already bought a cute little Christmas tree which we decorated yesterday.

Then we’re going to cook a delicious (or so I hope) 3-course Christmas dinner and give our presents to each other. It’s just going to be a cozy, quiet celebration. On the 25th, we’re going to my parents for our traditional turkey lunch. And then it’s back to Frankfurt for another lunch on the 26th (which is also a holiday here) with the boyfriend’s family. After that food marathon I probably won’t need anything to eat until the new year, but I’m looking forward to all these festivities, to spend time with the people we love and to appreciate all we have. I’ll make sure to post some pictures of our celebrations and, most importantly, the food we had after the holidays.

Until then I’m wishing all of you Merry Christmas and happy holidays! Enjoy the time with your loved ones!

Leave a Reply

