I have never… been to Zurich

Standard

DSC_0646

Last weekend the boyfriend had a gig with the cover band he occasionally plays guitar for. In Zurich, Switzerland. And since one of my plans for this year is to travel more, I was absolutely keen on accompanying him. Despite the fact that we were still in the middle of our move and I’d just had an almost 50 hour work week behind me. Sure, I was pretty exhausted, but certainly a change of scenery would do me good. So we got up early on Saturday morning, packed a bag and off we went.

I really have a thing for road trips. I just love blasting loud music through the speakers while watching the world pass by. Seeing new people and places. It took us about 4,5 hours and a stop at Burger King (where I normally never ever eat) until we got to Zurich. We even saw some snow on the way which was pretty exciting since we didn’t have any here so far in Frankfurt this winter. We caught a first glimpse of Zurich on the way to the venue where we were supposed to meet the rest of the band and I immediately liked it. There was something very laid-back (well, the Swiss I guess) about the city. The venue the band was supposed to play at was located behind the station area. When we walked around later we saw that it was somewhat of a red-light district mixed with artistic kind of places. It reminded me a little of the main station area here in Frankfurt. The venue itself was located in an old barracks building which was just so cool! I wish we had venues like this here, I’d definitely be a regular there. After we had a brief look at the venue we went over to the hotel the organizer had booked for us (girlfriends included, yay!). Again I was pretty surprised. I’d expected some cheap accomodation and actually prepared myself for the risk of having to look for a hotel room myself, but the place was pretty ok. Spartan, yes, but clean and the bed was really comfy. I don’t need much, especially not when it’s paid for by someone else. As long as it’s clean I’m fine and this place definitely was.

After we had a little rest, we went back to the venue because the band had to prepare for soundcheck and then the gig. The whole gig was part of a 60s festival with several cover bands from The Doors to Janis Joplin and Jimi Hendrix performing (the boyfriend plays in a Doors band). I’m not a huge fan of this kind of music and I’ve probably had enough of The Doors for the rest of my life already, but I do find it exciting to watch the boyfriend play. I was really surprised at how young the crowd was there. Usually, people are in their 40s or 50s or maybe even older, but this time there were a lot of people who looked like they were barely 18. And they had fun. They danced and cheered and it was just an awesome atmosphere. While I couldn’t get myself to be enthusiastic about the music I really enjoyed watching people. And seeing the band getting applause for what they love doing. We didn’t stay too long after the show because we were both pretty tired from the past weeks and the long drive and all, so we called it an early night. And I slept so well which I usually never do the first night I’m sleeping somewhere else. Score!

Unfortunately, the next day it was raining, so we weren’t really in the mood to do sightseeing. I really would’ve loved to have a look around the city, but cold and rain aren’t the best companions in my opinion. But at least I wanted to have a look at the lake once before we left, so we went on a little drive through the city. Which was really pretty! I would love to come back again when it’s a little warmer and nicer to explore it. Because it just looks like a really interesting and fun place. I don’t know how else to describe it, but there’s a really artistic vibe about the whole city. Something I do miss here sometimes. There were lots of galleries, little bars and cafes and things that are just inviting people to explore them. So I really hope I’ll get the chance to do so some day. When I’ve saved the money for it that is. Because of course there’s also the expensive side of Zurich (we paid 25€ for 2 coffees and 2 sandwiches at Starbucks!). Looking back I really had a fun weekend in Zurich despite the short time we spent there. And it totally made me want to get our band thingy rolling again. Because what could be greater than combining travelling and making music, right!

One response »

  1. Traveling and making music sounds just amazing! So glad you had a quick little trip to Zurich and got to nurture your inner road trip child. 🙂

Leave a Reply

