March Photo Challenge: Week 1

Standard

So I have, once again, decided to take part in a photo challenge created by the lovely Liz from Be.Love.Live. Almost a year ago (in April 2013) I had my first attempt at taking a photo every day around a specific word, but I didn’t quite make it until the end. It’s actually a fun thing to do and I’ve really wanted to give it another try and actually reach the finish line, so when I stumbled over the challenge for this month I just decided it was time. Maybe because this time it seems to be fairly easy because it’s simply set around certain times of day (this week it’s “morning”) which is fairly easy for my old brain to remember. What spoke to me even more however is the fact that the thought behind all this is to focus on the ordinary moments in life and see something special in it. I feel that’s exactly what I need right now. My life is crazily busy and has been for most of this year. My job is very demanding at the moment which is fun and great in a way, but some days it also makes my head spinning. This week is actually the first one in I don’t know how long that I’m not travelling somewhere (but only due to unforeseen circumstances which you’ll learn more about on one of the pictures below) and this is going to continue at least until after Easter. And since we’re also still settling into our new apartment trying to get everything done, I haven’t had much time for all the things I really love. Especially music. I’ve tried and it dissatisfies me to no end, but I also need to pace myself so I have enough energy for everything that needs to be done. So let’s start with the first few little moments I enjoyed during the past mornings.

Day 1

DSC_0664Last week we went to Ikea to get some stuff for the apartment and as always when you go to Ikea you come back with loads of stuff you didn’t plan on getting. Among other things we came back with some herb seeds and a box to plant them in. When I checked the box on Saturday morning I saw these little fellas looking through the soil. That was pretty fast!

Day 2

IMG-20140306-WA0001The weekend is the only time of the week we’re getting to enjoy breakfast together. Since I’m not an early bird and I now have a longer commute to work I usually only have time to gulp down some coffee before I have to leave the house during the week. So I’m always looking forward to a proper breakfast on the weekends. Yumyum!

Day 3

DSC_0669On Monday, I found out that Jared Leto actually won an Oscar for his role in Dallas Buyers Club! How amazing is that! I never really doubted he’d get it, but actually seeing him being rewarded for his talent, his commitment and his passion put a huge smile on my face. And when I watched his acceptance speech, I couldn’t help but get a bit teary-eyed. No matter how critical I have become of the path his band has been walking down lately, I have utter respect and admiration for this guy!

Day 4

DSC_0672There’s no doubt that spring is right around the corner now! And Tuesday proved this with the most beautiful sunny springtime weather. I have no idea why I was still wearing my winter coat (well, it was still pretty cold in the morning). It was so nice to hear the birds chirp and just feel the sunrays on my skin. I can’t wait for spring to finally fully arrive and I hope it’s soon.

Day 5

DSC_0674On my way to work there is a building which is currently being pulled down. When I walked past there on Wednesday, I saw a bunch of people (like this guy on the left) watching the deconstruction like little children. This really made me smile!

Day 6

DSC_0675Yesterday morning I was supposed to go to Munich to attend a workshop together with one of my clients. Thanks to Deutsche Bahn we never made it. There were huge delays of at least 100 minutes, so we definitely wouldn’t have made it on time. And since the train staff at the station said the delay would probably increase, we decided not to go. I had been waiting in a freezing cold station with shoes that aren’t exactly winterproof for over an hour, so I felt like an icicle. I actually forgot to take a pic during all the chaos and confusion, so I’ll just leave you with my poor little frozen feet.

Day 7

TattooExactly 2 months from today I’m gonna do something special. I’ll get a tattoo! For the first time in my life. I only made the appointment 2 weeks ago, so the thought of getting something permanently inked on my skin is still a little breathtaking. On the other hand I can’t wait for the day to finally arrive. And that was all I could think about this morning. Here’s a little peek on what I’m planning to get. What do you say?

One response »

Leave a Reply

