March Photo Challenge: Week 2

Standard

Another busy week has come to an end. I can’t believe we’re already 2 weeks into March. Again time is flying! Last week’s theme for the photo challenge was “noon/midday”. Here are the photos I took.

Day 8

DSC_0678Saturday brought the most amazing spring weather! It was so warm, I was acutally able to wear a t-shirt. In early march! Truly amazing! Up until then I was still wearing my winter coat and suddenly I didn’t even need to wear a light jacket. Of course, I had to go outside and enjoy the sun. The boyfriend had to work, so I met up with my sister and her boyfriend. We went down to the river and sat down for a little bit. It was so great to feel the sun on my skin and to just sit there and do some people watching.

Day 9

DSC_0682On Sunday, the weather was amazing again. We had our first breakfast on the balcony. Then we wanted to do something outside again. Originally we wanted to go to a little hill area with a park and a beer garden, but it was absolutely impossible to find a place to park the car. That’s what happens when the sun suddenly comes out. Everybody comes crawling out of their holes. We had no choice but to go back home. My sister and her boyfriend came over and we decided to finally check out that cafe-bar-concert venue thingy just around the corner from our place. They have a nice beer garden outside – the perfect thing to do on a beautiful spring day. There was a concert going on which made it even better. After we’d waited for ages for a beer and a sausage (we actually got the last few sausages before they ran out of them), we sat down on one of the benches and enjoyed that beautiful afternoon. I have a feeling that I’m gonna become a regular at that place.

Day 10

DSC_0693My noons at work aren’t very exciting. Most of the time I’m having lunch in the office with my colleagues which doesn’t make for an interesting picture. So I decided to share some things that were on my mind during my lunch breaks. On Monday, I started a new read. I’m a huge fan of Haruki Murakami and I’ve wanted to read this book for a long time. I’ve started to use my commute to read in it everyday and so far I absolutely love it. Sometimes I wish my train ride was a little bit longer.

Day 11

DSC_0692Tuesday marked the 3-year anniversary of the Fukushima catastrophe. A tragedy that hit close to home since I’d only returned back to Germany from Japan just a year before it happened and the country still felt like a second home to me. I remember exactly where I was and what I did when I learned about the earthquake, the tsunami and the following nuclear catastrophe. I spent hours and hours worrying about my friends living in Japan until I heard that everyone was doing fine. Even 3 years after the desaster many people are still suffering from the consequences and my thoughts were with these people that day.

Day 12

DSC_0689On Wednesday, I had to go to Cologne for a meeting. It was a nice change from the usual. When I stepped outside the central station, the huge cathedral was shining in the sun. I just had to take a picture of it. Beautiful, isn’t it?

Day 13

Since nothing spectacular happened on Thursday (and to be honest, I just forgot to take a picture), I have to cheat a little and share another picture I took in Cologne. When I was walking through the pedestrian area, I saw this guy walking in front of me. He was selling 2 jokes for just 1€. A real bargain I’d say! 😉

Day 14

DSC_0694All I could think about on Friday was the Frank Turner concert I was going to that night. I’d already wanted to see Frank last year, but couldn’t make it. I’d heard so many good things about his shows, so I was very excited to finally see him. And I’ll say this much: I wasn’t disappointed.

2 responses »

  1. Way to go! You have now made it through 2 weeks! 🙂 I just love seeing your photos. xoxo

Leave a Reply

